John Croft (b. 1971) studied philosophy and music at the Victoria University of Wellington, and composition and music cognition at the University of Sheffield. He also studied with John Casken at the University of Manchester, where he completed his doctorate. He is currently Reader at Brunel University London.

His music has been played by many ensembles and soloists, including the BBC Philharmonic, the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, the London Sinfonietta, the Arditti String Quartet, Ensemble Exposé, Studiya Novoi Muzyki, Distractfold Ensemble, 175 East, Stroma, Marij van Gorkom, Philip Thomas, Matthew Barley, Richard Craig, Barbara Lüneburg, and Xenia Pestova. He  received First Prize in the 2001 Jurgenson International Composers' Competition for his String Quartet and the the 2011 ICMA European Regional Award for l'aura che trema for alto flute and live electronics. His Intermedio III for bass clarinet and live electronics won the Prix Ton Bruynèl 2012.  He also teaches and writes on the philosophy of music.

‘…beautifully focused and concentrated, yet mysteriously suggestive.’

      Ivan Hewitt, The Telegraph


‘…an enchanting tapestry [which] created an ethereal imprint of Monteverdi like an indentation on a pillow.’

      Paul Conway, The Independent


‘…a superminimalist and a gourmet of chamber writing.’

    Tamara Grum-Grzhimailo, Literaturnaya Gazeta, Moscow


‘…warm and evocative, with beautiful French horn writing…’

    Kate Molleson, The Guardian


‘John Croft's simply beautiful l'aura che trema for alto flute and live electronics, and which the former excites the latter into complex and erotic 'tails' of activity of varying detail and behaviour, entrancing.’

    Simon Waters, British Flute Society Magazine